optimize your life.

How to Change the Default User Account Control Settings in Windows 7?

October 5th, 2012 | Posted by Costea Lestoc in Easy Tips

Windows Vista was the first operating system to integrate the User Account Control (abbreviated: UAC) security features. The purpose of UAC is to alert users while doing certain operations on requested of their system. The feature has been much improved Windows 7; mostly by scaling it back.  The UAC in Windows Vista was widely criticized for being to restrictive. However if you wish, you can still modify the User Account Control settings. The below steps will help you to switch this function on or off. You can also change the defaults, and how restrictive the control is in response to certain program requests.

UAC Settings Pop-Up

To modify any of these settings, click on Control Panel. Then navigate to User Accounts and Family Safety.

Now, click on User Accounts and then click Change User Account Control Settings.

A new screen will appear; scroll down and select your level of protection. Here is a brief overview of the following options to help you select the one that is right for you:

Always Notify Me: This option will tell UAC to alert you when a new program is trying to be installed,an existing program tries to change something in your system; or whenever you make system wide changes.

Default: In this case, UAC will only notify when a program tries to make a critical change in your system.

Notify me only when programs try to make changes to my computer (do not dim my desktop): This is almost identical to the default settings; however with one big change – the desktop will not dim; and instead another prompt will ask you to approve some action. This is slightly easier to miss- and is not recommended for beginner users.

UAC Setings Never Notify Me Option

Never Notify Me When: If you choose this option, UAC will not operate. This however circumvents some of the security features of Windows 7 and is not recommended.

After you have select and option, click ok and restart your system.  Now you have successfully changed your User Account Control Settings.

Be Sociable, Share!

You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0 You can leave a response, or trackback.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

404 Not Found

404 Not Found